RSS

On The Eve of an Exam

02 Mar
On The Eve of an Exam

The first one of the semester in fact! The exam is for my Structural Systems class, and I am hoping (and praying) that it will be easy like I expect it to be.

Hmm…one would think that I have learned something from my 3.5 years in college…

Sadly, studying will officially take over my night in T minus 1 hour 😦

On a more positive (and stress-free) note, today has been wonderful. I had a great start to my morning with a steaming hot bowl of oatmeal.

Curious? Check it out…

BLUEBERRY/BANANA OATMEAL

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup organic old-fashioned oats

-handful of organic blueberries

-1/2 Tbs. chia seeds

-half of a large ripe banana (the riper the better)

-1/4 cup soy milk (can be substituted or omitted)

-1/2 cup – 3/4 cup water* (depends on how thick you want it)

*NOTE: you can use all soy milk…I’m just trying to cut down on my soy intake)

-1 Tbs. pure maple syrup or honey

-1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

1.) Mix everything together and bring to a boil.

2.) Reduce heat to simmer and cook for ~10 minutes or until oats are soft.

3.) Use a spoon to break apart the banana into small pieces and quickly mix together until the banana essentially dissolves. Whip that banana!

Enjoy!

I sprinkled nutmeg as well as some more blueberries over my bowl for an extra nutritious kick.

So quick and simple yet so healthy and delicious!

I eat oatmeal almost every single day. Yes.

I’m Irina and I’m an oatmealaholic.

There I admitted it.

Class was boring as usual. I had a lecture and then a discussion section to attend for my Asian American Studies course. We have an exam next week for it and I HAVE READ NOTHING! <insert panic here>

But that’s to conquer on another day…

After class I came home and made myself my go-to veggie sandwich. Here’s another shocker for you: I eat this sandwich almost every.single.day as well.

I adore this sandwich by the way. I call it The Healthwich. It makes me feel ridiculously healthy and happy after I eat it. I literally feel like I’m Popeye eating his spinach!

My sandwich-making philosophy is simple: stuff it as much as possible.

I use 2 slices of Ezekiel bread and fill the sandwich with tomatoes, cucumbers, avocados (an absolute must!), spinach or other greens, sautéed onions and mushrooms, hummus, Dijon mustard, and occasionally even fresh basil leaves!

Pure. Heaven.

Well time is quickly ticking and my exam books are angrily calling my name.

Ugh. The joys of being a college student.

I’ll leave you once again with a quote from Yogi tea:

“The trust that others place in you is your grace.”

~From Russia With Love~


 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “On The Eve of an Exam

Leave a Reply

 
