RSS

Disappointment

03 Mar
Disappointment

Sadly, my exam did not go as planned (shocker). This is the definition of who I am. I study my ass off and honest-to-god know all of the information, but come exam time BAM I royally screw up. Ugh I can’t even think about this anymore…so disappointing 😦

On a more positive note…Anya is coming to visit!!! Tomorrow is my school’s Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day and oh boy do us students get wiiiiiild. FINALLY, after 3 years, Anya is going to experience this fantastic (non)holiday! Only a few more hours till she arrives!

I’ll definitely have a post on tomorrow’s festivities…just not tomorrow since the day will most likely be a blurry haze of green 🙂

My day began so well today (too bad that didn’t last)! My 8am class was cancelled so I woke up at 7am instead of 6am. Wow its shocking what one extra hour of sleep can do to my energy level. For breakfast I made myself a scrumptious breakfast of steel cut oats topped with a cherry-blueberry jam.

At 11am I had a class to go to for an hour, and then upon returning home I continued to study study study until 3:30! Exam time soon followed, lasted 2.5 hours and now I am here…sitting, exhausted and upset, on my couch.

Blah.

I need to make some dinner for Anya (whole wheat spaghetti and homemade marinera sauce).

I should go do that.

Now.

Ok after I post the breakfast recipe.

I promise.

VERY CHERRY STEEL CUT OATS

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup steel cut oats

-1 cup soy milk (reserve 1/4 cup)

-1/4 cup pitted frozen cherries

-1/4 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

-1 Tbs. honey

-1 Tbs. Flax Seed

-1 tsp. cinnamon

-1/8 tsp. salt

-nutmeg to taste

Directions:

1.) Toast oats for 1-2 minutes until slightly golden

2.) Add 3/4 cup soy milk, bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer and allow to cook for 30 minutes

3.) After 30 minutes, stir in the remaining 1/4 cup of soy milk, cinnamon, salt, and flax seed, cover and allow to cook for an additional 5-10 minutes. Make sure the oatmeal does not dry out! Add more liquid to reach your desired consistency

4.) Meanwhile, to make the jam, combine the cherries, blueberries, and honey in a small dish and microwave for ~1 minute or until very soft and hot. Stir well

5.) Pour berry jam on the oatmeal, sprinkle with some nutmeg and enjoy!

Wanna see?

Here are the steel cut oats I used:

I LOVE steel cut oats- they are so chewy and filling! If it wasn’t for their long prep time I would probably eat them every day!

Look at those beauties!

Here are the spices that I used- more on those some other time.

The final product- isn’t it just beautiful?

In order to avoid a disgustingly sweet mouthful, I suggest mixing everything together before eating. Trust me, you won’t be sorry!

I gotta go make some din-din for my Anyuta now!

Once again, a few wise words from Yogi:

“True wealth is the ability to let go of your possessions.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
