RSS

Detox Monday

07 Mar
Detox Monday

Happy Monday!

For me it has not been the best start to the week. I am still feeling the after-effects of the eventful (and not to mention draining) weekend. I feel sluggish and groggy, not only from the consumption of alcohol on Friday but also from the abundance of unhealthy food consumed all weekend.

So this morning I decided to start the week off fresh and clean with a delicious bowl of OATMEAL! Duh.

The carrot cake oatmeal recipe has been stalking me for quite some time already…I’ve been seeing it everywhere! This morning I woke up and instantly made up my mind- today was the day I was going to attempt making this mysterious concoction.

One word, two syllables: SUC-CESS.

Check it out!

CARROT CAKE OATMEAL

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup organic old-fashioned oats

-1 cup finely grated carrots

-3/4 cup non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened soy milk)

-1/8 tsp. ground cloves

-1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

-1/2 tsp. cinnamon

-1 Tbs. ground flax seed

-1 Tbs. maple syrup or honey (can be adjusted to taste)

-1 Tbs. coconut butter or oil (basically the same thing)

-shredded coconut to sprinkle on top

Directions:

1.) Combine all ingredients except for the shredded coconut in a small pot. Stir well.

2.) Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer and allow to cook for ~10 minutes or until oatmeal is thick and soft. The cooking time will be much less if you are using quick-cooking oats. If the consistency of the oatmeal is too dry, simply add more liquid.

3.) Transfer to a bowl, sprinkle with shredded coconut, and enjoy!


So SIMPLE!

Suggestion: sprinkle some chopped walnuts on top as well! I forgot to… 😦

It has such a bright and beautiful color to it, so refreshing to see in the morning! I feel healthier and happier just looking at this picture!

So as I mentioned last night, today is Day 1 of Lent. It’s settled: I’m giving up nail-biting for Lent. Let me just tell you, this is not the first time I’ve made this sacrifice.

I believe that it is very important for people to always strive towards being the best they can be. Stepping out of your comfort zone, working towards dropping a bad habit- those are all sacrifices. With sacrifices only then can you learn true appreciation.

So to me, eliminating my nail-biting habit is a sacrifice, but it’s a good one 🙂

It’s true. I’ve been a nail-biter my entire life. My mom has been a nail-biter her entire life. Like mother, like daughter. Thanks mom. My sister got lucky and escaped this addiction.

Believe it or not, my nails are shorter than a man’s nails. Seeing that tiny bit of white at the tip of the nail triggers something in me and I immediately MUST chew it off. Ugh it’s awful!

So today is Day 1 of not biting my nails. So far so good!

BEWARE: the picture below may terrify you

Just looking at this gives me motivation to keep moving forward with my goal!

Later that morning, I spoke with my sister and we thought of a cute idea to do together for these next 40 days of Lent. We decided that everyday we must do something nice for ourselves. It must be something unique and positive…no negativity allowed!

It is so important to love and pamper yourself. Many times, doing something generous and kind for yourself is as lovely and gratifying as having someone else do it for you.

Remember, your first and last love is self-love.

So today I am going to give myself a manicure as encouragement for my non-nail-biting adventure 🙂

I gotta feeling, that tonight’s gonna be a good good night 🙂

“Patience gives the power to practice; practice gives the power that leads to perfection.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Detox Monday

Leave a Reply

 
