RSS

International Women’s Day

08 Mar
International Women’s Day

S Vosmim Martom!

Translation: Happy March 8th!

And why am I so excited about this day, you may ask?

Well, today is International Women’s Day throughout Eastern and Western Europe. This year it’s extra special because it’s the 100th anniversary of the holiday!

So why is this day important?

Started in 1911, IWD celebrates the accomplishments and progress of women politically, economically, and socially.

Here is was the International Women’s Day website has to say:

“The International Women’s Day Centenary should make the women of past proud, the women of current inspired, and the women of the future envisioned. Women have made great strides in equality yet there is still a great deal to be achieved on many fronts and the 2011 IWD Centenary will provide a unique and global opportunity to reignite, inspire and channel women’s equality for the future.”

Sadly, the United States does not acknowledge this day, but it is starting to catch on! In fact, President Barack Obama even declared this March to be “Women’s History Month.” Progress baby!!!

I have fond memories of this day throughout my life. Every year, my dad always brings flowers home for the ladies of the house. My senior year of high school, a fellow Russian student brought 2 dozen roses to school and handed them out to girls all day. Such respect and kindness really leave a lasting impression.

Ladies, today is the day to be proud to be a woman! Go pamper yourself, treat yourself to some shopping, or even buy yourself flowers. Today is about YOU!

Gentlemen, show the ladies some love! This ain’t no Valentine’s Day, this is a day to be grateful for all of the strong beautiful women in your life: moms, sisters, daughters, wives, girlfriends, aunts, grandmothers. Tell them how much you value and respect them, and maybe throw in a bouquet of flowers as an added bonus 🙂

I am incredibly lucky to be surrounded by so many strong and persevering women in my life. Just to name a few:

Mom: Growing up in Russia, starting a family, and then suddenly moving to America has molded my mom into the incredible woman she is today. Her life has been filled with obstacles that one only hears about but never experiences, and the life that she helped establish for my sister and I is truly remarkable. I love you mommy!

Sasha (sister): Having to move to America at 12 years old with no prior knowledge of the English language and no friends to have as comfort, the difficulties my sister has experienced in her early years have taught her many valuable lessons. She learned to appreciate her life and belongs, and her love towards family and friends has always guided me in the right direction. We are sistahs for life!

Christina and Anya (my two best friends): Two of the most beautiful people I know. Both are so different yet so similar in many ways, and without them being the two musketeers in our three musketeer bond, I would not be where I am today. ~BFF~

Despite waking up excited for this holiday, I’ll admit that Tuesday (and Thursday) mornings are my least favorite of the entire week. Why? Two words: 8am class. AKA 6am wake-up call. AKA exhaustion all day. Don’t get me wrong- all summer while working I woke up at 5:30 every morning. It’s just that with school it somehow feels more torturous.

Yesterday morning I had some coffee left over, and instead of pouring it out I had the brilliant idea of refrigerating it and making a decadent breakfast with it the following morning.

No one, especially not me, wants to spend half an hour in the wee hours of the day slaving over a hot stove making breakfast. So I decided to kill two birds with one stone and simplify my morning by attempting (for the first time) overnight oatmeal.

I believe I first came across the idea of overnight oatmeal on Angela’s website Oh She Glows. Eager to try out this unique breakfast, I devised a recipe that would serve as a little perk-me-up this morning.

And what did I come up with? See below…

COFFEE CAKE OVERNIGHT OATS

Ingredients:

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

-1/4 cup cold brewed coffee

-1/2 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (beware if using sweetened!)

-1/8 tsp. ground coffee

-2 tsp. maple syrup

-1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

-1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

-1 Tbs. Chia Seeds

Directions:

1.) Combine all ingredients together and refrigerate overnight. They will be ready in the morning!

Honestly, I was wary with this recipe. The idea of coffee in my oatmeal was exciting and scary at the same time.

However, one bite and I was in love with the taste. The sweetness was not overwhelming and the coffee taste was subtle yet noticeable. Better yet, the aroma was absolutely divine (think: vanilla latte).

My take on overnight oats? I was not a huge fan of the coldness combined with oats. The texture felt a little off to me, and it is probably something that requires some time to grow on you. I’ll stick to hot oatmeal for now 🙂

This recipe is definitely worth a try though if you’re a bit adventurous and dangerously sleepy every morning.

*UPDATE: Day 2 of Lent has been successful thus far (*knock on wood*). I did put my fingers in my mouth a couple of times both yesterday and today with my teeth baring and ready to rip me off some nail, but I immediately stopped myself! Now that’s what I call self-control 🙂

*UPDATE #2: What nice thing will I be doing for myself today? Giving my body a much needed stretch! Hmm I’m thinking Yoga…

Have a great International Women’s Day! Make it count!

“Be proud of who you are.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

 
