RSS

Goin’ Green Yet Again

11 Mar
Goin’ Green Yet Again

Green seems to be a prominent theme in my life lately. First Unofficial, now this (read on)! I think my mind is trying to subconsciously tell me that I’m missing spring!

I will probably jump with joy the moment I see a little green leaf or stem popping out of the ground!

So what is today’s dose of green?

The first one is planting. That’s right! Despite living in a small apartment with very limited light (totally to blame for all of my yellowish pictures), I decided on a whim to buy some herb seeds to plant.

I bought dill, basil, and parsley. The three packets cost me a grand total of…$1!!! Seriously, if these seeds actually grow, I will be saving so much money by not having to buy fresh herbs. Plus…it’s better for the environment 🙂

I have a special place in my heart for dill. The herb…not some random man 🙂 It is said that scent is the strongest sense tied to memory (was that in my bio class or the Axe commercial?), and when I smell dill I instantly remember my visits to Russia. Dill is major component in many of the dishes there. My mom uses it all the time in her cooking, and when I smell dill I always long for home (both the suburbs home and the motherland home).

Another item I bought was this fantastic egg planter. I just couldn’t resist!

It was so much fun cracking the ceramic egg…it was almost like the real thing!

Cross your fingers…in 7-14 days I should see some marigold stems popping out of the soil!

One can only hope…

Going with the green theme, two nights ago I decided to make some thick n’ creamy spinach soup. A few days ago I bought a huge tub of spinach and have had the idea for this soup floating around in my head ever since.

Here is my scrumptious creation!

I started by chopping up the onions, potatoes, and garlic.


 

Combine all ingredients in a pot and cook until the potatoes are soft.

 

Add in the spinach and stir until it is wilted.

 

Transfer the mixture into a blender and blend! You will start to see a beautiful green color emerge.

 

Ta Da!

 

SPINACH SOUP

Ingredients:

-3 cups low-sodium vegetable broth

-2 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed

-1 medium onion, chopped

-2 hearty cups of spinach

-3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

-2 Tbs. tomato paste (I used unsalted)

-1 Tbs. olive oil

-1/4 tsp. smoked paprika (optional but I highly suggest it)

-1/2 tsp. bay leaves

-1/2 tsp. basil

-salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1.) Saute the garlic and onion in olive oil in a large pot until soft.

2.) Add in the potatoes, vegetable broth, spices, and tomato paste and boil until potatoes are soft- about 20 minutes.

3.) Add the spinach in bunches and allow it to wilt.

4.) Transfer the mixture into a blender and blend until smooth. Make sure to hold the lid down!

5.) Transfer mixture back into the pot and allow to cook for a few more minutes. If the soup appears to be too thick, add a bit of water or stock until desired consistency is reached.

*Makes ~3 servings (hey I live by myself I can’t make massive amounts of food!)

This soup is so thick and creamy you won’t even notice that it’s completely vegan!

 

Unfortunately, it’s still cold and dreary outside. I guess I’ll have to keep satisfying my green cravings with my cooking!

The only part of me that’s truly complaining is my body’s inability to tolerate cold. And rain. And snow.

“Inspiring others towards happiness brings you happiness.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
