RSS

Trial And Error

13 Mar
Trial And Error

I love weekends. It’s like Christmas every 7 days.

Sleeping in, making delicious food, lounging around, sleeping in.

Oh and sleeping in.

Sundays have a different feel to them, though. They’re nothing like Saturdays. Sundays are calm, semi-productive, and even peaceful. It’s the calm before the storm of the week to come.

This weekend I decided to do a breakfast experiment. It was actually completely unintentional.

Friday night I couldn’t get the idea of making a quinoa-oatmeal bake for breakfast. I immediately tried it the next morning, and while the results where scrumptious, they didn’t quite meet my standards.

Sunday morning was my second trial. I’ll compare the two.

Saturday: Trial 1

I used equal ratios of quinoa and oats (1/4 cup of each), but I ended up grinding the oats into oat flour. I also added sliced bananas and strawberries with a touch of vanilla and some flax seed.

Before going into the oven:

 

After 45 minutes in the over, the result:

The taste was delicious- the sweetness of the bananas paired perfectly with the tanginess of the strawberries.

However, there were a few problems:

-the quinoa sunk to the bottom and dried out

-the quinoa didn’t cook through completely

In other words, gravity did some damage and made the heavier particles sink. Damn physics (says the engineer…).

Needless to say, I still ate the entire thing 🙂

But I couldn’t give up quite yet…

Sunday: Trial 2

This time I decided to switch things around. I still used equal ratios of quinoa and oats, but this time I ground the quinoa into flour and kept the oats as is. I also chose to try an apple pie version with apples, raisins, and cinnamon.

I used my Magic Bullet to grind up the quinoa (I used the red quinoa). It came out perfectly! I’m obsessed with the idea of grinding up my own flour now…the possibilities are endless!

Quinoa flour:                                                           Quinoa-Oat mixture:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before going into the oven:

 

The beautiful result:

To me this was perfection. The quinoa gave the entire “pie” an earthy taste while the apples, raisins, and maple syrup balanced it out with their sweetness.

Oh. Mah. Gawd.

VEGAN APPLE PIE BREAKFAST BAKE

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup quinoa, ground up into flour (or use store-bought quinoa flour)

-1/4 cup old fashioned oats

-1 cup non-dairy milk

-1 small apple, chopped into little bite-size pieces

-1 Tbs. maple syrup

-1 Tbs. raisins

-1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350F.

2.) Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and thoroughly mix together.

3.) Pour into a 5″ baking dish, place into the oven and bake for 30 minutes.

Once again, WOW.

The earthy red quinoa flavor was prominent, but I still loved it. If you think the quinoa will be too overwhelming for you, I suggest cutting down the amount of quinoa flour and proportionally increasing the amount of oats. Another possible alternative is using yellow quinoa, which has a milder flavor.

I poured a bit of maple syrup on top for added sweetness:

Very healthy and very filling!

Ok now time to be productive!

…yay for homework…

“Tranquility is the essence of life.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
