RSS

Saying Goodbye To Winter

28 Mar
Saying Goodbye To Winter

I’m back. I’m back. I’m back to school!

And no, I’m actually not excited at all.

So much to do.

 

Study

Study

STUDY!

I drove down with my mom on Saturday and we spent a couple of hours cleaning and organizing my apartment.

Now I’m all alone and completely homesick 😦

It’s hard (and sad) to believe that I only have ~1.5 months of school left. Where did my senior year go?!?

One thing is for sure- I will definitely make the most of these remaining 7 weeks!

The weather is refusing to morph into spring. April is almost here and yet it’s still supposed to snow on Wednesday! Not to mention that spring officially started last week…

Not.Cool.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and throw myself into spring mode.

So this is my formal goodbye to winter.

As a final grateful farewell (after all, winter did bring us a snow day), I decided to create a “wintery” meal- butternut squash soup!

This soup is an absolute favorite in my family. It was first made on Thanksgiving a year ago and has continuously been re-made ever since.

The soup is rich and hearty, perfect for the cold fall and winter weather. Not so perfect for spring, although given the weekly weather forecast I deem it appropriate.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP

Ingredients:

-18 oz (about 1lb) butternut squash, chopped into small 1″ cubes

-4 cups vegetable broth (I used low-sodium)

-3/4 cup canned diced tomatoes (I used no salt added)

-1 medium onion, chopped

-3 medium garlic cloves, finely chopped

-1 tsp. dried basil (I suggest using fresh if possible)

-1/2 tsp. bay leaf

-olive oil for sautéing

-salt to taste

Directions:

1.) In a large pot, sauté the garlic and onion in the olive oil until the onion is translucent and soft.

2.) Add in the basil, bay leaf, and tomatoes and allow to cook for ~5 more minutes.

3.) Add in the butternut squash and vegetable broth and cook the mixture at medium/low heat for approximately 45 minutes or until the squash is very soft.

4.) Transfer contents into a blender and blend until smooth. Salt to desired taste.

The consistency is absolutely perfect, not too thick and not too thin.

As you can see, the butternut squash had to be used immediately!

I try to eliminate excess sodium wherever possible.

Cook until the squash is very soft.

Blend to perfection and serve with a side of garlicky bread and enjoy, knowing that this is your final farewell to winter.

Yields about 4 cups.

I guess I’ll be saying goodbye to winter all week…

Goodbye to winter gesture #2: planting!

Yesterday morning I planted basil and dill, and I also cracked open another egg planter with Impatiens since I left my first one back home for my mom to take care of.

If all goes well and the herbs actually grow, I will have delicious fresh herbs all summer!

I’m dreaming of it already…

“Be so happy that when others look at you they become happy too.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
