RSS

A Change Of Taste

30 Mar
A Change Of Taste

It’s crazy how much my taste pallet has changed throughout my life.

Like any child, I was a ridiculously picky eater. My ideal meal consisted of a piece of candy followed by a massive bowl of ice cream. Russian food was very low down on my list of favorite foods.

Although my sweet tooth is still as strong as ever, my dislike for Russian food has taken a complete 180-degree turn. When I got to college I started craving it like crazy!

Cabbage leaves and red peppers stuffed with ground beef (I used to like red meat), Russian pilmeni, buckwheat, Borsht. The list goes on…

I guess homesickness came with a dose of home-cooked food cravings!

Living in a dorm with nasty food didn’t help very much either…

Starting sophomore year, having my own apartment and access to an actual kitchen helped cure some of these longings for certain foods (although we all know that nothing can really be as good as mom’s cooking).

So when I saw the oatmeal created by Mama Pea, it immediately reminded me of one of my childhood favorites- Russian kasha.ย I knew I had to make it ASAP.

The traditional Russian kasha is made with semolina, milk, and butter and is usually topped with jam or honey. My mom used to always make it with raisins as well and, unlike many Russian children, I LOVED it.

This morning I literally jumped out of bed (oh how I wish every morning was like that) and immediately starting making my own version of this kasha.

So.Exciting.

PORRIDGE WITH BLACKBERRY-COCONUT CREAM

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup steel cut oats, ground up into a powder

-1/2 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened and unflavored- you can use any non-dairy or dairy milk)

-1 cup water

-2 tsp. maple syrup

-1 Tbs. raisins

-1/8 tsp. salt (try not to leave this out!)

*For Blackberry-Coconut Cream Topping:

-1/4 cup fresh blackberries

-1/2 Tbs. Artisana Coconut Butter

-splash of almond milk

-optional: some sort of sweetener (I left this out)

Directions:

1.) Combine the ground up steel cut oats, almond milk, water, maple syrup, salt, and raisins in a small pot and whisk together.

2.) Bring to a boil and then cook on low heat (simmer) for about 15 minutes.

3.) Meanwhile, in a blender combine the ingredients for the cream topping and blend until a smooth consistency is reached.

4.) Transfer the porridge into a bowl and top with the cream.

I am IN LOVE with the porridge. It reminds me so much of my mom’s version! There was a subtle sweetness from the maple syrup and raisins, and the salt really brought out the taste of the steel cut oats.

I am also in love with my Magic Bullet. Borderline obsessed actually. It’s sooo useful!

It helped me turn this:

Into THIS:

Artisana Coconut Butter is DELICIOUS. It’s raw and unprocessed and tastes absolutely divine.

My mom will be proud ๐Ÿ™‚

On another note…yesterday I went to a celebration dinner with my Engineering Council committee. We are in charge of our school’s career fairs in the fall and spring, and after days of hectic work a celebration dinner is always a necessity.

We went to the nicest restaurant in town and oh boy did we go to town.

I ordered pan-seared salmon with couscous and pickled vegetables. WOW the salmon was fantastic! It was perfectly seasoned and literally melted in my mouth.

Perfection.

Left-overs were definitely a perk as well ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s been a good day ๐Ÿ™‚ And the 50 degree weather has helped out too ๐Ÿ™‚

“Bliss is a constant state of mind, undisturbed by gain or loss”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “A Change Of Taste

Leave a Reply

 
