RSS

A Quick Mid-Week Meal

31 Mar
A Quick Mid-Week Meal

The days of the week always seem to fly by when an exam is near.

It’s already Thursday!! Where did the week go?!? Even worse…the entire month of March ends today!

Whoa.

Luckily, I love Thursdays because my weekend officially starts today!

Hmm too bad the weekend will be filled with studying, studying, and more studying 😦

You always miss what you don’t have, and right now for me that is time.

Yesterday I came home from a group meeting completely starving (I hate group projects!), and wanted to whip up a quick meal instead of reheating leftovers. Pasta usually bores me but last night just thinking about it made me drool.

It all came to me in the blink of an eye. Right before leaving for spring break, I froze a bunch of food instead of throwing it out. One such food was a frozen mashed avocado. A few weeks ago I also froze a container of my Carrot-Onion Dip, and it was time to use it as well.

Out came this satisfying creation:

CREAMY CARROT N’ KALE PASTA

Ingredients:

-3/4 cup whole wheat penne pasta

-1/2 cup carrot-onion dip

-1/2 of an avocado, mashed

-1/2 cup sliced mushrooms (I used baby bella)

-3-4 large kale leaves, chopped into small pieces

Directions:

1.) Boil some water and cook the pasta until soft, about 15 minutes.

2.) Meanwhile, in a medium pan sauté the mushrooms, carrot-onion dip, and kale until the mushrooms are cooked and the kale is shriveled.

3.) After the pasta is done cooking, drain it and add it into the pan with the “sauce” made in step 2. Add in the mashed avocado and stir to coat all of the pasta.

Serves 1 hungry college student

Enjoy!

So so so good! What a quick and satisfying dinner for one!

This morning I couldn’t resist another bowl of my porridge, except this time I used ground-up rolled oats instead of steel cut oats. I also topped it with fresh mango.


I am battling a serious addiction to this porridge and just might succumb to it daily.

No complaints though 🙂

Lunch was also scrumptious and nutritious and consisted of my fav sandwich: the Healthwich!

I used Ezekiel bread, kale, tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado (), grilled onions and mushrooms, eggplant spread, and kalamata olive hummus.

Don’t forget to drink green tea with your meal! It’s no mystery that green tea holds vast nutritional and health benefits. I also remember reading somewhere that the nutrients and antioxidants in green tea are better absorbed with lemon and during a meal, so I always drink my green tea with a sliver of fresh lemon.

It always makes my day 🙂

“To be great, feel great and act great”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
