RSS

Dating…Myself

03 Apr
Dating…Myself

Weekends are surprisingly lonely.

1.) Max isn’t here keeping me company

2.) My family and besties aren’t here either

3.) I can’t go out and hang out with my friends here because of my school work (damn you, FE Exam!)

So when I arrived home after class a few days ago and saw a package waiting for me in front of the door, I knew that it was the “surprise” package that Max told me about (way to ruin the surprise huh!).

Except I still didn’t know what was inside!

Upon opening the package I saw this:


I have been hearing about this movie my entire life (at least my life in America) and sadly have never seen it. Embarrassing and pathetic, I know. Especially considering that it is one of the most famous movies ever!

Confession: I was never quite sure (until now) what L.A Confidential actually was- a movie, a book, a video game…Fail haha. Although my main suspicion was that it is a movie…so I kind of win! #winning

Shhh just don’t tell Max 🙂

Yesterday was Max’s and my 2 year and something month anniversary (2 years and 9 months, but who’s counting?). It was sad not being with him so I had to find some way to make myself as happy as possible.

So I decided to have a date with myself!

Plans: make some popcorn, cuddle up on the couch, light a candle, drink some tea, and watch the movie!

I made black kernel popcorn on my stovetop using coconut oil to pop the kernels. I coated the popcorn with garlic powder, smoked paprika, and a bit of salt. YUM

My date:

And of course, I had to include a candle to set a romantic mood!

I was so excited to watch this movie! It got a 99% on Rotten Tomatoes (amazing!!!) and it’s one of Max’s favorite movies of all time. He thought I would really like it….awwww ♥

Thanks to Max, my taste in movies has completely changed. He’s incredibly (and annoyingly) picky about movies, and as a result his choice of movies is pretty good. After seeing lots of fantastic movies with him, I find it harder and harder to enjoy dumb movies with mindless plots 😦

My thoughts on L.A. Confidential?

First off, I was sooo confused! My mind was trying to keep track of all of the different plots going on simultaneously. Even worse was trying to keep track of who all of the characters were.

*Spoiler Alert: Read on at your own risk*

As the movie neared the end and the plots all started coming together, it became easier to follow.

I’m typically pretty good at predicting movie outcomes, but with this movie I completely failed. It was hard enough trying to understand what was going on. The only thing I foresaw was that the two main crime mysteries (the Nite Owl murder and Fleur-de-Lis) were connected (duh).

Final verdict: I loved it! The movie was full of suspense and mystery, and it was never boring despite it’s 2.5 hour length.

I’m still confused on many of the little events/details that occurred throughout the movie:

-Was Officer Bud White set up to meet Lynn?

-Are Lynn and Officer Exley in love? (the end scene really confused me)

-What was the District Attorney (?) talking about when Bud was threatening to throw him off of the building?

And so much more…

I definitely need to watch it at least 2 more times in order to fully grasp all of the little details and their connections to the main plot. Hmm…date nights #2 and #3?

Overall it was a night well spent. And even though Max couldn’t be here with me, I made sure to enjoy the night for both of us 

“Tranquility is the essence of life”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Dating…Myself

  1. Sasha

    April 4, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I love the new layout of your website. Such chocolaty colors 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
