RSS

The Great Soy Debate

05 Apr
The Great Soy Debate

Soy milk: a nutritious healthy drink or a dangerous concoction?

This question has been looming in my mind for as long as I have been drinking soy milk (about 3 years).

I’m a girl of few ingredients. In other words, long ingredient lists make me cringe. Big, long, unknown scary words terrify me.

I am not a vegetarian or vegan (although I rarely eat meat and only occasionally eat eggs or drink milk), but soy milk has been a staple in my diet since I started college. I never had any problem with it’s taste, and I actually really enjoy it!

The soy milk I buy is from Trader Joe’s- it’s organic and has only two or three ingredients: filtered water, soybeans, and vanilla (no vanilla if I buy the plain version). I always purchase the unsweetened version.

I’m the kind of person who does thorough research of what I ingest, and for some time I worried about my daily consumption of soy milk. Eventually though, I began to feel at ease about consuming it (I only used it for my oatmeal and occasionally for coffee/tea).

My mom and sister have always been bothered by this little soy habit of mine and they would constantly try and convince me to either drink regular milk or switch to another non-dairy milk such as almond, rice or hemp.

So why didn’t I?

Well, as I mentioned earlier, unknown ingredients scare me and long ingredient lists (especially on foods where there should only be 2 or 3 ingredients at most) repel me. Ew.

Take almond milk for example. It’s always fortified with some sort of vitamins and always includes carrageenan. I don’t have a problem with these ingredients, but I can’t help but feel that they are all so unnecessary. Same goes for all of the other non-dairy milks.

Hmm…I think I’ll pass.

Two weeks ago a wonderful thing happened- I came across an almond milk recipe (don’t remember which one, sorry!) and, seeing how easy it was to make it, I set out to try it myself.

SUCCESS!!!!

I’m happy to announce that I have officially given up soy milk forever!

Seriously, making almond milk really is a no-brainer. You soak the almonds, blend them, strain through a cheese cloth or nut milk bag, and BAM you have almond milk.

Read on and I’ll show you how to milk these babies:

ALMOND MILK

Ingredients:

-1 cup raw almonds

-4 cups water

-optional: vanilla bean, sweeteners (maple syrup, honey, stevia, dates, etc.)

Directions:

1.) Combine almonds and water and soak for 24 hours in the refrigerator.

2.) Transfer the almonds and water into a blender and blend until smooth. If you are using vanilla beans or sweeteners then combine those into the mixture as well and then blend thoroughly.

3.) Using a rubber band, attach cheese cloth or nut milk bag to the rim of a large jar.

3.) Strain out the almond pulp using the cheese cloth or a nut milk bag. Use your hands to squeeze out the remaining milk from the almond pulp.

THAT’S IT!

Almonds pre-soaking:

24 hours later:

Plump n’ juicy!

I would highly suggest using a nut milk bag (mine is coming in the mail soon!) since they are reusable and so much easier/cleaner than cheese cloths.

Blend blend blend away!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The milk will be very foamy:

Now, carefully strain the mixture and let gravity do its job:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s up to you what you want to do with the leftover almond pulp. I have some good ideas, but they will have to wait until next time since this week is incredibly busy!

So into the garbage it goes 😦

You get a good 4 cups from this recipe. Don’t forget to store the milk in the refrigerator and use within ~4 days!

How easy is that?!? I’m still so amazed and impressed by this entire simple process. I will never go back to soy milk again 🙂

I usually make my almond milk with just almonds and water because I prefer it to be unsweetened and unflavored, but you can go wild and add anything to it!

*Just make sure to keep it refrigerated and use it within 3-4 days.

One soy item I’ll probably never give up though? TOFU!

Yum 🙂

I’m totally inspired to make all kinds of nut/grain milks now…any ideas?

“Nature is a giver, a true friend and sustainer”

~From Russia With Love~

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “The Great Soy Debate

Leave a Reply

 
