RSS

April Showers Bring…Me Cravings?

13 Apr
April Showers Bring…Me Cravings?

Now that the weather is warmer and the days are longer (aka more SUN!), my appetite has changed. I’m craving lighter, less dense foods and lots upon lots of fruits and veggies.

Lately, however, my cravings have taken a one-way path towards very specific foods.

 

Exhibit 1: KALE

I seriously don’t know what is going on here, but it’s overwhelming. The other day my heart dropped when I saw there was no more fresh kale at my local grocery store. It put a serious dent in my good mood.

Daily, around 1 or 2pm my mind goes blank (well, dark green actually) and all I can think about is kale, kale, kale. I’ve been eating The Healthwich with kale almost everyday and it tastes better and better 🙂

I’ve also been adding parsley into the mix and sautéing the onions and mushrooms with it. So scrumptious!

Exhibit 2: OVERNIGHT OATS

You may remember my reluctance with overnight oats the very first time I tried them. I was intrigued by the idea of cold oats when I saw Angela’s many recipes, but the taste and texture didn’t sit very well with me the first couple of times.

Fast forward a few weeks and now all I want for breakfast is a cold bowl of overnight oats! Yesterday I created a dreamy mixture of softserve and vanilla oats to make a creamsicle flavor. A couple of weeks ago I experimented with a coffee cake flavor. I even took a risk with green tea overnight oats, which ended up fantastic. Now, I have tons of new flavor ideas lined up and I can’t wait to try them all!

There is also something about a refreshing bowl of flavorful (and quick!) cold oats on a warm spring morning. I still eat warm oats of course, but my cravings are steering me towards a lighter and “springier” breakfast.

Exhibit 3: BANANA SOFTSERVE

I’ve mentioned in a previous post how much I love making banana softserve. I’ve been making it for years, and there’s no stopping me now.

Lately, the only dessert I can think about after a meal is banana softserve. In any flavor. My favorite add-ins include (but are definitely not limited to): chocolate, frozen cherries, frozen strawberries, goji berries, coconut, and carob powder.

I get some serious creativity going when it comes time for dessert.

Here is the original goji-banana softserve that inspired the creamsicle overnight oats:

It’s a little melted because I added a bit too much liquid…oops. Still delicious though!

As you can see, I’m a creature of habit. I listen to and obey my cravings for as long as needed, even if it turns into a habit (i.e The Healthwich).

Nothing wrong with that!

In fact, it’s important to listen to what your body needs and to never deprive it of anything.

Trust your body so that it will trust you!

That is one of the most important lessons I learned in college. True story.

Some of my formal addictions/cravings include: brussel sprouts (winter of 2009-2010), roasted veggies (fall of 2009), and potatoes (on and off to this day).

This past winter for example, I almost checked myself into rehab because I could not stop eating pomegranates.

I bought crates of pomegranates at Costco and ate them like there was no tomorrow.

Eating the gorgeous little red kernels made me feel so extravagant…like I was eating little rubies 🙂

I topped everything with the pom poms…specially oatmeal!

Now, I have a bag filled with frozen pomegranate seeds, but sadly it’s running very low and pomegranates are no longer in season 😦

Hmm good thing I subdued my cravings huh?

“The mind is energy. Regulate it.”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “April Showers Bring…Me Cravings?

Leave a Reply

 
