RSS

Sicky Sick

15 Apr
Sicky Sick

So of course, given the beautiful weather and non-stop sun (except today), my body decides that it’s time to get sick.

Perfect.

My throat hurts, I can’t properly breath, I annoyingly sniffle non-stop. Horrible!

This is what I’ve been drinking all day:

Tea is such a cure-all!

Yogi Tea is my absolute favorite brand of tea. They have so many options to choose from, and I love trying out new flavors as well as continuously buying old favorites. The combinations of ingredients they come up with are pure perfection.

One day I will show you my tea collection. It’s kind of ridiculous 🙂

Sadly, I’ve been using this sickness as an excuse to be crazy lazy. AKA I’ve been lounging around on my couch all week after class and watching random, mindless television (my fav) such as Bethenny Ever After and The Big Bang Theory.

Tonight just might have to be another night of mindless TV if I don’t feel better by 8 or 9pm. The potential line-up? Modern Family, How I Met Your Mother, The Real Housewives of New York City, and more of The Big Bang Theory.

Despite being sick all week, I’ve been doing a lot of exciting cooking. Stay tuned- later today or tomorrow I’ll show you my week in cooking and you can feast your eyes on heaven.

But right now I want to share the delicious breakfast creation that I made this morning. It involves a former obsession of mine- cherries!

I mentioned in a previous post that I get intense cravings and addictions to certain foods. In other words, I go through phases in which all of my meals revolve around one main ingredient.

Usually it’s vegetables like potatoes, brussel sprouts, and mushrooms, but at one point I was ridiculously addicted to cherries. I still am, actually, just not to the extreme that I was before.

Cherry oatmeal is still my 2nd favorite oatmeal (after “melted” banana oatmeal of course), so this morning I decided to create a cold springtime version.`

CHOCOLATE-COVERED CHERRY OAT SMOOTHIE

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup rolled oats

-1/2 non-dairy milk

-1/2 cup water (can omit water and simply use 1 cup of non-dairy milk instead)

-1/2 cup fresh or frozen cherries (I used frozen)

-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

-1.5 tsp. maple syrup (can increase amount to reach your preferred sweetness)

-1.5 tsp. cocoa powder (can be increased if you want a more intense chocolatey flavor)

-1 Tbs. cacao nibs

Directions:

1.) Combine oats, non-dairy milk, water, vanilla extract, maple syrup, coca powder, and cherries in a bowl and refrigerate for a couple of hours or overnight.

2.) The next morning (or whenever), add in the cacao nibs and blend thoroughly until a smooth consistency is reached.

3.) Top with some chopped cherries and/or cacao nibs and enjoy!

I think it’s safe to say that I’m quickly becoming obsessed with these cold oat smoothies, and overnight oats in general.

Uh oh…I feel a new food phase coming on!

How can you NOT be addicted to this:

???

Exactly.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

I’ll try to…but with this rain+sickness the only accomplishment I foresee is a television marathon 🙂

“Wisdom becomes knowledge when it is personal experience”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Sicky Sick

Leave a Reply

 
