RSS

A Week In Food: Part 1

17 Apr
A Week In Food: Part 1

As promised, here are some noteworthy meals I created this week and did not mention earlier.

I highly encourage you to try them all 🙂

Enjoy!

(in no particular order)

1.) Tangy Kiwi-Banana Carob Softserve

I have mentioned plenty of times my love for banana softserve. I love love love that it is a quick and simple dessert that is incredibly healthy yet decadent.

Trying out all of the endless possibilities is always a plus as well, and a few days ago I went where I have never gone before- kiwis!

I had a bag of frozen chopped kiwis in my freezer since before spring break, and it was time to use them. So I mixed together a couple of frozen banana slices, frozen kiwi slices, a splash of almond milk, and about a tsp. of carob powder and hoped for the best.

The best is what I got indeed!

Sweet and tangy at the same time, the softserve immediately reminded me of the tangy frozen yogurt you can buy at Red Mango or Pinkberry (or other fro yo places). So.good

See? Even my piggy bank wants some!

2.) Almond Milk

I explained my transition from soy to almond milk in the post, The Great Soy Debate, and I have kept to this. Almond milk is so quick and easy to make, and I sincerely enjoy it.

The entire process is even easier now that my nut milk bags have finally come in the mail!

These are absolutely fantastic! I highly recommend purchasing a nut milk bag as it is reusable and very easy to use.

Here is are two bottles of fresh almond milk:

So worth every second 🙂

3.) The Healthwich

Now this calls for subcategories!

a. Salmon Healthwich

I think my body was just craving protein because I could not get enough of this Healthwich!

Luckily, I had some frozen smoked salmon in my freezer, and within 30 seconds it was as good as new and ready to be eaten.

Most other ingredients remained the same but I did simplify the sandwich to a select few ingredients that paired well with the smoked salmon: grilled onions, fresh cucumber slices, crisp lettuce, roasted zucchini squash slices (made the night before), hummus, and dijon mustard.

Oh my this sandwich was unbelievable!

b. Portabella Burger Healthwich

For some reason all I wanted the other day was a big juicy burger. Well, veggie burger to be exact. I rarely crave meat and definitely didn’t want a hamburger, but I wanted that smokey grilled flavor in my sandwich.

While at the grocery store I saw the perfection solution: portabella mushroom caps! They were the perfect size for roasting in the oven and using as a filler in a “burger-healthwich.”

Ingredients included: lettuce, tomatoes, grilled onions coated with smoked paprika, dijon mustard, hummus, ketchup, and of course the baked portabella mushroom.

Umm…WOW. This Healthwich made me swoon with happiness with each bite. The ketchup and dijon mustard as well as the smoked paprika helped make it taste like an authentic burger.

Seriously, try this Healthwich NOW.

4.) Very Cherry Cinnamon Oatmeal

The other day, I mentioned that cherry oatmeal is my 2nd favorite oatmeal combo, after melted banana oatmeal. Now that Spring is here, I have less desire to eat hot oatmeal every morning and typically go for something lighter.

However, a few days ago I woke up with a strong inclination towards a steaming hot bowl of cherry cinnamon oatmeal.

I used frozen cherries and sweetened the combo with honey.

With a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg, the breakfast was wonderful 🙂

Stay tuned…Part 2 is comings soon!

“The trust that others place in you is your grace”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
