RSS

The Final Stretch

21 Apr
The Final Stretch

I apologize for my absence lately…it can directly be blamed on school and all of the busy-work it brings!

These next 3 weeks are the final push for me. I basically have 2 upcoming weeks of pure hell with three group projects and 2 papers and two final exams thrown into the mix. Luckily, my final assignment (a ten-page paper) is due on Monday May 9th and then I am freeeee all week until May 15th graduation!

May 9th seriously can’t come soon enough…it’s what’s keeping me motivated!

The sadness of graduating has not yet kicked in, as schoolwork and the stresses it causes is currently taking up all of the room in my emotions. But my cap and gown are ordered and I am ready to walk across that stage 🙂

May is quickly approaching and yet the weather is refusing to warm up! Yesterday it didn’t even reach 50° and was freezing out! Today is only slightly warmer.

What is this madness?!?

Although I must say, April sure is living up to that whole “April showers bring May flowers” business…it’s been raining more than 4 times a week here!

Due to the cold and dreary weather, I had a little winter-related relapse and chose to make a heavy oatmeal combo that would make any winter-lover proud. Hint: I used sweet potato!

HEARTY SWEET POTATO OATMEAL

Ingredients:

-1 heaping cup of finely grated sweet potato

-1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

-1 cup milk (I used homemade almond milk)

-1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

-1 tsp. cinnamon

-1/8 tsp. ground cloves

-1/2 Tbs. (1.5 tsp.) maple syrup

-1 Tbs. raw coconut butter (I used Artisana brand ♥)

Directions:

1.) Combine the grated sweet potato, milk, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves in a small pot and cook on low for approximately 5 minutes to soften up the sweet potato.

2.) Add in the oats, stir, and allow to simmer for 10 more minutes.

3.) Transfer to a bowl, top with coconut butter or other butter, and enjoy!

The oatmeal was very flavorful and perfect for a cold and rainy morning!

And it’s oh so very healthy too 🙂

I may be MIA for a while, with some sporadic posts here and there, and I apologize ahead of time for this, but school always comes first 🙂

Just a few more weeks left!

“It’s important to find your identity and your legacy”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
