RSS

Love.The.Earth.

22 Apr
Love.The.Earth.

HAPPY EARTH DAY!!!

I hope that wherever you are, you are showing much respect to Mother Nature.

Here at school, it’s been raining non-stop! Rain (or any sort of precipitation for that matter) and I don’t seem to get along too well. Side effects? Classes are ditched, the bed is never left, pajamas are never changed out of. Pretty extreme stuff, huh?

Today was different. I awoke to a gloomy sky and thunder in the distance. A thunderstorm was fast approaching. Normally, I would lock myself in my apartment, curl up on the couch, and watch mindless TV shows until something would motivate me to do something else. But today I embraced Mother Nature’s actions; she has a right to show off…it’s her day!

Along with the thousands of other things I worry about daily, often times the news triggers my lingering worry about the earth. Us humans are doing so much to harm it, and although nature is a balancing act, it has obviously reached the point where a natural balance cannot be achieved. There are simply too many humans on this tiny planet.

I came across a quote today that truly resonated with me:

“The earth will take care of itself even if it means killing us off.”

I know in my heart that this is true and can even be extended further- the earth will take care of itself even if it means sacrificing itself to do so. In other words, we can lead the earth into destruction and to the point that the only means for the earth to “rescue itself” would be to destroy itself and thus us as a consequence.

Scary stuff, I know.

But we can all help save our precious earth!

Recycle, turn off all lights, reuse as much as possible, conserve water, buy organic, plant a garden, ditch your car, use re-usable water bottles and containers…

The list goes on and on.

Personally, I adopt many of these things in my own life.

For example, I grow my own herbs!

Dill:

Basil:

Well…I haven’t actually tried them yet as they are still growing!

Yet there is always room for improvement.

How will you show Mother Nature some love?

“May you have faith in your worth and act with wisdom”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
