RSS

Say Hello To The Easter Bunny!

24 Apr
Say Hello To The Easter Bunny!

HAPPY EASTER!

Today is the day of hard-boiled eggs, gorgeous easter baskets, lots of chocolate, hams and sausages, and exiting festivities!

I am Russian Orthodox, and although I am not religious I still enjoy celebrating Pasha (pronounced: Pas-ha) which is the Russian name for Easter. Orthodox Easter does not always fall on the same day as the Christian Easter, but this year it just so happens that it does!

Typically, on the night before Easter Sunday, my family and I go to church to get our Easter baskets blessed as well as light a candle. The songs and sermons end at midnight and then the eating begins!

When I was very young (around 10 years old), my friends and I and our families would all go to the same church. We would stay up all night and wait for all of the sermons to be over. Finally, around 7am the games and eating would begin! Gifts would be handed out, games of cracking the egg would be played, and so much more!

I used to love these times and look back at these memories very fondly.

Nowadays, things are a bit different. Sadly, I don’t always have the opportunity to come home for easter due to schoolwork. So I have to make-do on my own 😦

Luckily, I did a great job cheering myself up this morning!

My main success was an amazing new pancake creation that happened completely by accident. Last night, I mixed together oats, grated carrot, almond milk, and some maple syrup in hopes of creating a lovely “Eastery” oat smoothie (or as HEAB calls it: Smoathie). This morning I blended the mixture, and although it tasted delicious (I will be posting a recipe for it sometime later!), all of a sudden the brilliant idea of making pancakes hit me.

So out came this DELICIOUS creation!

CARROT CAKE PANCAKES FOR ONE

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

-2 Tbs. whole wheat or spelt flour

-1/2 or 2/3 cup finely grated carrot

-1.5 tsp. cinnamon

-1/4 tsp. baking powder

-1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

-1 Tbs. maple syrup

-3/4 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)

-1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

-Chia egg: 1 Tbs. chia seeds+ 3 Tbs. water

-pinch of salt

*For Coconut Maple Syrup:

-1 Tbs. maple syrup

-1/2 Tbs. Artisana raw coconut butter (alternative: coconut flakes)

Directions:

1.) Combine oats, grated carrot, maple syrup, almond milk, vanilla extract, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.

2.) After refrigeration, blend the mixture and then add in the chia egg, baking powder, flour, and any additional add-ins and stir thoroughly.

*Note: for the chia egg combine the chia seeds with water and let sit for ~10 min until the mixture is jelly and egg-like

3.) On a pre-heated (medium heat) and oiled skillet, pour the batter to your desired pancake size and allow to cook a total of about 5 minutes on each side, flipping continuously.

4.) Top with the coconut maple syrup (just combine and mix the coconut butter and maple syrup together) and enjoy!

I die for these pancakes. They are seriously too good to be true!

Healthy? Check! Filling? Check! MIND-BLOWINGLY GOOD? CHECK!

Have a great Easter everyone! And if you don’t celebrate Easter then have a great Sunday 🙂

“The only tool you need is kindness”

~From Russia With Love~

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Say Hello To The Easter Bunny!

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter

    April 24, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    I didn’t know much about the Pasha traditions – so interesting. I bet you do miss being with your family to celebrate, but I think your amazing pancake creation made up for it. What a delicious looking stack of carrot cake mind-blowing goodness. 🙂

     
    • russianwithlove

      April 26, 2011 at 11:53 am

      The all-night tradition was the best 🙂 Some of my fondest childhood memories were formed during those long nights!

       
  2. max

    April 24, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    those look better than ihop pancakes, and i love ihop pancakes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
