RSS

Moody Weather

11 Jun
Moody Weather

Seriously? 55º??? It’s mid-June already!!! What is this madness?!?! Just two days ago it was 94º! The weather has some serious issues here in Chicago.

Thankfully I’m leaving to go on vacation tomorrow! Mi familia and I are driving all the way to Ocean City, Maryland for some quality time on the beach. We are staying in an awesome suite with a kitchen so that we can cook when we need to! But we all unanimously agreed that dinner every night will consist of seafood! Ahhhh nice and fresh seafood is to.die.for. 🙂

In preparation of our upcoming vacation, my mom and I are getting manicures and pedicures later today. Yes, I’m well aware that I included those tasks on my to-do list, but I decided that it’s been waaaaay too long since I went to the nail salon (6 months!) and I deserved it 🙂

Despite the gloomy weather, I’m still going to choose a bright and summery color for my nails. Moody weather you don’t scare me!!!

I’m still enjoying refreshing summer salads:

My new salad bowl of choice is this fantastic Acacia Wood bowl. It’s the perfect size!

Baby spinach, red peppers, cucumber, carrots, tomato, blueberries, and croutons made from Ezekiel sprouted bread. Dressing consisted of grapeseed oil and pomegranate vinegar.

Perfection!

I love adding fruits into my salads. Noteworthy favorites include strawberries, blueberries, and mango. Yum!

Speaking of blueberries and favorites, lately I have been obsessed with buckwheat bakes. I first came across these on Edible Perspective a couple of months ago. Being secluded at school prevented me from actually trying to make them because raw buckwheat groats where nowhere to be found. As soon as I returned home, I immediately purchased the buckwheat and, well, the rest is history.

I make a buckwheat bake for breakfast at least 4 times a week and I always try out new flavor combinations. I have yet to actually bake a buckwheat bake in the oven as I’ve been using the microwave (3 minutes and it’s done!). Here are some of the documented ones I made:

Blueberry (today’s breakfast):

Mango:

Raspberry-Peach:

The possibilities are endless!

I’m off to pamper my fingers and toes. Have a great day!

“There is nothing more precious than the self”

~From Russia With Love~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Buckwheat

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Moody Weather

  1. Ashley

    June 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    OH my word!!! Your bakes look OUTstanding!! I love how colorful they are. Glad you’re enjoying them so much!! 🙂 Your salad looks delish too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
