RSS

Detox Day 1

20 Jun
Detox Day 1

Welcome back friends!

As of last night I am officially back from a fantastic week-long vacation with the fam in Ocean City, Maryland. I will be posting vacation recaps throughout the week, but today I decided to start the week off with a “detox.”

I actually don’t like the words “detox” and “cleanse” because disturbing thoughts of all-liquid or all-fruit/veggie diets instantly come to mind. Personally, I am a firm believer in the workings of the human body; our colon is biologically designed to clean itself out without the aid of store-bought cleansers. However, over-burdening your colon with unhealthy junk food severely limits its ability to cleanse natually.

Surprisingly, my family and I ate very well during our vacation. My sister and I, being the health freaks that we are, decided that we would take full advantage of the invigorating atmosphere (ocean & salt water= best health booster ever) and fuel our bodies likewise. I will go into more detail about our “health plan” in later posts. However, junky food still sneaked its way into our bodies throughout the week. Pizza, ice cream, gelato, fried foods, and even funnel cake made quite a comeback!

Upon returning home, my sis and I both decided that we would go on a one-week detox in which all meat and sugar will be eliminated from our diets. I’m even considering avoiding all dairy as well (aka going VEGAN for a week), but I am still not 100% sure. After a long 13-hour drive from Maryland to Chicago, my sis and I immediately jumped in our cars and drove to Whole Foods (duh). I stocked up on Kombucha, spinach, kale, beets, carrots, fruits and berries, goji berries, coconut butter (Artisana baby!), and raw buckwheat groats (buckwheat bakes anyone?).

Eating my last piece of dark chocolate last night, I vowed to eat right and exercise (!!!!) every day this week. This morning I woke up excited to begin my cleanse. First thing I did was drink a glass of Trilogy Kombucha. According to my sister it’s important to drink Kombucha on an empty stomach, but I’m not sure why. This article provides some useful info regarding Kombucha consumption.

This isn’t my favorite flavor, but I’m determined to try all of the flavors so I obviously had to buy it. Painfully pricey but still worth it!

Breakfast came soon after and consisted of ginger tea and oatmeal. I haven’t eaten oatmeal in a while and was craving it this morning.

The combo was quite simple: half of a banana and goji berries mixed in along with cinnamon and vanilla extract. Toppings included raw buckwheat groats (add an awesome crunch), goji berries, sunflower seed butter, and organic blueberries.

Ginger tea has been a staple in my life for over a year. I drink it every morning with my breakfast. It is known to aid in digestion, and although I still find it occasionally difficult to tolerate the overpowering gingery taste, I refuse to give it up. The health benefits are endless!

My favorite ginger tea is Alvita, and I have been loyal to it since day 1:

It is the only ginger tea I have ever found whose ingredient list consists solely of ginger. You can find it at your local…Whole Foods! Shocker.

Perfection!

After breakfast my mom and I went to get post-vacation manicures. The salt water did wonders to our nails and we immediately had to take full advantage of our newly long and strong nails.

Check.It.Out.

O.P.I nail polish= Purple With A Purpose (yes, I am aware of my O.P.I addiction)

Absolutely gorgeous! I seriously can’t stop looking at my nails. So purple and shiny!

To address your confusion: I most definitely consider a relaxing manicure as part of my detox 🙂

Up next was a much-needed visit to the bestie, X-tina. I missed her mucho! Sorry, there are no pics of the brief visit!

A detoxifying day would not be complete without some sort of exercise. I have been keeping this a secret for a while already, but I’ll confess: I started running! Yes, it IS a HUGE deal to me, and I will write an entire post on why very very soon…I promise!

I drove straight from X-tina’s house to my local outdoor park and busted out a smooth 2 miles. Ok it was actually a very painful 2 miles but I’m still working on it!

Pretty views help though 🙂

At this point I was starving so I quickly drove home (only minor speeding involved :)) and made myself a Green Monster consisting of spinach, kale, 1/2 a banana, blueberries, chia seeds, and wheatgrass. I’m quickly becoming a fan of the wheatgrass and am even considering buying a small tub of if (if I can ever get over the price!).

Cat approved?

Oh yea.

She loves it…just like I love her ♥

Crazy cat lady anyone?

This monstrous smoothie held me over while I showered, and lunch was up next.

Lunch: A falafel veggie Sunshine burger sandwiched between two scrumptious slices of Ezekiel bread as well as spinach, ketchup, and mustard.

It’s the return of the Healthwich!

After eating Ezekiel bread for ~2 years I still can’t get enough! Yummy yum yum! And the Sunshine burgers are quickly becoming a favorite as well.

Post lunch snack= a pink lady apple (my #1 choice of apple)

Pink Lady rocks my world!

And yes I still can’t get enough of my purple nailpolish, which is why I awkwardly distorted and twisted my hand in order to capture yet another picture of the gorgeous color.

Don’t judge.

One of the main reasons I’m doing this detox/cleanse is because my skin has not been at its finest for the past couple of months. The cause is still unknown to me, but I refuse to live with it any longer. The healing ocean did wonders on my skin and hopefully my daily Green Monsters will continue to do what the salt water did.

Just to make sure my skin gets the ultimate treatment, I brought in a pro: Yogi Tea!

This Skin Detox tea is absolutely delicious. It has subtle hints of rose with a tint of sweetness. I highly recommend it (and all Yogi teas in general…yes another obsession of mine!).

I will end my day with some snacks (TBD) as well as some fresh juice via the juice maker! Carrots, celery, beets, cucumber, and ginger will all be used. Can’t wait 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this ridiculously long post on the first day of my detox!

“Inspiration is an unlimited power”

~From Russia With Love~

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Detox Day 1

Leave a Reply

 
