RSS

Straying From The Path

22 Jun

Hello hello!

Hopefully everyone is having a great week…it’s almost over!

My so-called “detox” (I mentioned earlier how I use that word loosely) has taken a bit of new path. One that includes:

pizza (fats, carbs, and veggies…healthy enough for me!)
chocolate (at least it’s 85% dark with minimum sugar)
cheese (hmm so much for a vegan week!)

Yesterday I went to visit my sister in the city and we had a fun-filled day of eating, shopping, and lots of walking. I love that her and I are completely in-tune with our hunger signals…we almost always get hungry at the same time. Of course, the first thing we did upon arriving on Michigan Ave. was EAT! Since we are both supposed to be on a “cleanse” we opted for the most logical choice on the menu: pizza margherita! It was well worth the minor stray from the week-long health food plan 🙂

Shopping was the main goal of the trip, the stores of choice being H&M and Forever 21. I had so much success finding adorable clothes to wear for nights out on the town! Pictures to (maybe) come in the future.

At the end of the day we chose to walk back to her apartment instead of taking the bus. I’m definitely feeling the 3 mile walk in my calves today! It hurts so good 🙂

It was the perfect way to celebrate the summer solstice and the longest day of the year. The scenery along the way was beautiful and thankfully it stayed light out for a long time.

We walked past the Lincoln Park Zoo:

The city was left behind:

I fall more and more in love with Chicago everyday 🙂

We made it home right as the storm hit…so lucky!

The next morning I basically forced my sis to wake up early with me to hit the farmer’s market. I have a confession to make: this was my first time ever going to a farmer’s market! Horrific I know :/

The walk there was longer than anticipated, but the end result made it all worth it.

The scenery along the way helped out:

Hellloooooo farmer’s market!

These red beauties instantly caught my eye:

So I bought 2 little crates- one for me and one for my sister.

I seriously have to eat these only a couple at a time. I’m scared that once I start I won’t be able to stop and will just end up eating the entire crate! Sooooo delicious!

I vowed to spend only $20 at the market, and of course I spent every last penny. My purchases were: organic cabbage, 2 crates of strawberries, rhubarb (I’ve been dying to try it!), and red chard. My sister’s purchases were: organic kale, flowers for our mom, and some fried berry-filled dessert.

We both worked up quite an appetite with all the walking, so lunch was up next. It was a simple yet satisfying dish: whole wheat penne pasta with organic (farmer’s market!) kale, grape tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil.

We finished the entire dish 🙂

The best view of the day, though?

Oh what an amazing 2 days I’ve had with my sis! I ♥ her and can’t wait to visit again 🙂

“May your mind learn to love with compassion”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
