RSS

Detox Recap

27 Jun

I survived my detox week!!!

Melodramatic much? In all honesty it didn’t feel like a detox at all. I ate how I typically eat and only avoided coffee, meat (fish), and sugary foods. I also avoided alcohol all week but yesterday I went out for a drink with some friends after seeing Bad Teacher (horrible!) and caved for a glass of red wine. Oops. I just considered it my celebratory I-survived-my-“detox”-week reward 🙂

But lets back up a couple of days.

Saturday was fantastic! The sun was lacking but the air was warm and summery. I started the day off with a buckwheat bake (shocker). I really should call it “microwaved buckwheat breakfast pie” or something like hat since I never actually tried to bake it. One day, folks, one day.

This MBBP (haha!) was unique though! I felt experimental and adventurous so I opted for a strawberry-rhubarb flavor. I first made a quick stawb-rhub jam by boiling farmer’s market strawberries and rhubarb together with honey for about 15 minutes.

The final product was out.of.this.world. I’ve always been obsessed with sourness and this definitely hit the spot. Sweet+sour= heaven.

I mixed it into my MBBP nuked it for 3.5 minutes. Meanwhile, I mixed together some of the jam with my homemade Nutella as an added scrumptious topping.

The topping may not have an appealing color but trust me, it was fantastic.

Good to the very last bite!

A few hours after breakfast my fab running partner and I hit the streets for our long run.

Once again I surprised myself by busting out 5 miles!!!

Oh it was glorious! I couldn’t be more proud of myself 🙂

As expected post-run, starvation hit me like a pile of bricks and I raced drove home to create this hydrating green beauty:

In the mix:
Spinach
Kale
Almond milk
Flax seed (ground)
Banana
Blueberries

It held off my hunger for ~2 hours until our planned barbecue dinner!

On the menu? Hamburgers (for the parentals), grilled portabella mushrooms and grilled pizza!!!

I used the whole-wheat pizza dough I created and froze a couple of weeks ago and it was still fantastic!

I stuffed my face with an open-faced portobella burger and plenty of slices (5!) of pizza.

Slightly altered version of a pizza margherita:

Vegan pizza with grilled onions, spinach, tomato sauce and avocado:

I wobbled away with a full belly and a happy heart ♥

On Sunday the weather was much improved. I celebrated by buying myself a new pair of shoes (kidding…kind of). Breakfast was not too shabby either: scottish oats with strawberry-rhubarb jam and organic blueberries. Hmm it’s been a while!

As I mentioned earlier, I also met up with some friends for movies and drinks. Thus came the glass of wine. No more words needed.

Overall my detox week was not too bad! I drank Kombucha every morning and avoided what I declared for the most part (dark chocolate also snuck into my meals :/). I have been having minor cravings for coffee all week but today I woke up and just wasn’t feeling it at all.

But what I “surprisingly” was feeling was a nice buckwheat bake…or should I say MBBP?

Today’s flavor of choice was cherry (one of my favs!) topped with remaining strawberry-rhubarb jam.

I adore cherries…yumyumyummy!

My other dessert for the day?

Banana-cherry softserve with dark chocolate. I was obviously on a cherry kick all day.

Ok kiddos I’m off to go and continue to be lazy…have a great night!

“Always be pure, simple and honest”

~From Russia With Love~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
